About us EN

About us

Simius Hircus is the survival association of students in Utrecht. We have our own obstacle course at the Sportcentrum Olympos which we have been maintaining and expanding since 2012. There is weekly group training for both beginners and advanced students. These trainings are not only for fun, but also intended to prepare for survival runs that take place throughout the country.

We also organize fun activities and (campfire) drinks in addition to the training sessions, and every year we work together to build the Utrecht Survivalrun which takes place at the Utrecht Science Park. These activities do not organize themselves. Therefore our association also has several very nice committees. Check them out here.

Origin story

The Utrecht Student Survival Association Simius Hircus was founded on September 3, 2012. It started with Tom Broeze and Axel van Ruitenbeek at the end of October 2011. As passionate survivalrun practicers they thought it would be fun to start a survival association in Utrecht. During that year, this led to several discussions with, among others, the V.S.U., Utrecht University and Olympos. From March, Fiona van Kaam became involved in the plans. On June 20, 2012, permission came to realize the survival plans at sports center Olympos in Utrecht. On August 17, 2012, construction of the survivalrun course began!

Board members


1st Board 2012 – 2014

Chairman: Axel van Ruitenbeek
Secretary: Fiona van Kaam
Treasurer: Tom Broeze

Second board

2nd Board 2014 – 2015

Chairwoman: Martine Maat
Secretary: Nouki Smeur
Treasurer: Axel van Ruitenbeek
Internal affaires: Tom Broeze

Third board

3rd Board 2015 – 2016

Chairwoman: Martine Maat
Secretary: Melissa Papa
Treasurer: Liz Linders
PR-commissioner: Nouki Smeur

Fourth board

4th Board 2016-2017

Chairman: Joris van der Lugt
Secretary: Liz Linders
Secretary: Melissa Papa
Treasurer: Erik van Battum

Fifth board

5th Board 2017 – 2018

Chairman: Bas van Boekholt
Vice-chairman: Erik van Battum
Secretary: Desi van Roon
Treasurer: Olivia Lamers
PR-commissioner: Mathijs Andeweg

Sixth board

6th Board 2018 – 2019

Chairwoman: Desi van Roon
Secretary: Rosa Toonen
Treasurer: Karel Nijhuis
Internal affairs: Simone Koers
External affaire: Maarten de Vries

Seventh board

7th Board 2019 – 2020

Chairwoman: Willemijn Koppelaars
Secretary: Ilmar Beyeler
Treasurer: Sjoerd van Acker
Internal affairs: Lonneke Nijhuis

Eighth board

8th Board 2020 – 2021

Chairwoman: Merel Blommaert
Secretary: Naomi Pruijssers
Treasurer: Arjan Hijlkema
Int/external affairs: Frank van der Tang

Ninth board

9th Board 2021 – 2022

Chairman: Guido Buijs
Secretary: Stella van Hoogstraaten
Treasurer: Erwin Glazenburg
Int/external affairs: Emma Geelen

Tenth board

10th Board 2022 – 2023

Chairman: Nienke Braas
Secretary: Arne Hefting
Treasurer: Hanne Wolthuis
Internal Affairs: Jort Kous
External Affairs: Guido Buijs

Eleventh board

11th Board 2023 – 2024

Chairman: Emma de Haas
Secretaty: Dennis Lutgens
Treasurer: Jet van der Togt